Mountcollins AFC was formed back in 2003 to initially set-up a Junior Team in the local area. The founder members at the time were Brendan Lyons, Denis McCarthy, John Paul Lenihan and Brett Audsley. The main challenge associated with setting up a club at the time was finding a suitable playing surface and location. A pitch was identified in the townland of Mountcollins on the border with Cragg & Knockawarriga townlands owned by Denis O Sullivan. Despite being far from level the pitch was approved by the Limerick Desmond Football League and planning got underway ahead of the first season 2003/04. The first officers elected to the top table were Chairman: Brendan Lyons, Secretary: John Paul Lenihan and Treasurer: Brett Audsley. An astonishing 47 players/members signed up for the first season with Ray O Reilly assuming the role of Team Manager for the first season. The team jerseys were sponsored by Brendan and Donna Lyons who were running Quirkes Bar at the time in Mountcollins Village. The first season saw Mountcolllins AFC compete in Division 3 of the Limerick Desmond League.


 Pitch and Fundraising:

 In the early days, the club was funded by membership, sponsorship and social events ran in Quirkes Bar. The Mountcollins AFC Lottery was formed when a regular income was required to support underage teams and upgrade the pitch. Maurice Collins and James Lane were hired over the years to level & drain the playing pitch whilst also upgrading the entrance to the pitch. Mountcollins AFC rented the pitch from Denis O Sullivan from 2003-18. The purchase of the pitch was completed in 2018. The nominated trustees for the pitch were the then Chairman: Mike McCarthy, Secretary: Julie Murphy, Treasurer: Brett Audsley and Groundsman: Denis McCarthy. The pitch was also renamed Glasha Park following an annual sponsorship agreement with Glasha Fitness


Underage and Juniors:

Success for the Juniors was limited in the first few seasons as many of the players were adapting to playing soccer for the first time in their playing careers. There was one promotion between 2003-2011 where it was clinched in a playoff win in Clonreask. There were also two final defeats in Clonreask in the Hogan and League Cup Finals. In 2011 the decision was made to disband the Junior team and shift focus to developing our underage teams with the intention of returning a team at Junior Team in 2018-20. There was some great days with underage between 2011 & 2019 with successes at Under 8, 10, 12 & Youths level. In 2019 the Junior Team returned under the stewardship of Mike McCarthy & Brian Flannery with a blended team of young players and returning experienced players. It turned out to be a mixed season which saw the season end early due to the Covid 19 pandemic of 2020. Mountcollins made the decision to cease all playing activities during the Covid 19 pandemic and hope to return to full activities in 2021